Menu

One day can help for the rest of your life

If you're newly diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, or need support to manage your condition, Diabetes Queensland hosts a one-day event that will simplify what you need to know. 

 

Diabetes Education and Self-Management for Ongoing and Newly Diagnosed (DESMOND) is a free education program to support people living with type 2 diabetes.

 

DESMOND days are being held around Queensland. 

 

The symptoms of type 2 diabetes can be so mild, many people may ignore the condition until there are serious complications.

 

Healthy living assists in preventing or delaying complications such as heart and kidney disease, stroke, amputations, depression and anxiety, or blindness.

 

Education in small DESMOND groups also ensures people can get personal advice on the day.

 

Each group is usually made up of 10 participants living with diabetes, and each participant can bring a partner or friend with them for support. 

 

Meet and share experiences with others while working with DESMOND educators to develop your own personal health plan.

 

DESMOND can help you to:

 

  • increase your understanding of diabetes
  • be more physically active
  • take steps to lose weight
  • lower your blood glucose levels
  • take steps to quit smoking
  • improve your overall health.

 

The next DESMOND days will be held at:

 

Mackay Thursday 27 June

 

Mackay Saturday 29 June

 

Kenmore Tuesday 9 July

 

Forest Lake Wednesday 10 July

 

Logan Friday 12 July

 

Bundaberg Monday 15 July

 

Cairns Tuesday 16 July

 

Helensvale Friday 26 July

 

Mareeba Friday 26 July

 

Ipswich Friday 2 August

 

Roma Friday 2 August

 

Redlands Tuesday 6 August

 

Browns Plains Wednesday 7 August

 

North Lakes Tuesday 13 August

 

Robina Monday 19 August

 

Nerang Wednesday 21 August

I'd like to read more about...

Click to see more or the + to add to your topics of interest

Articles just for you!

Get content tailored just for you through by choosing your topics of interest.

Choose Now >